How to measure success

04May10

The thesis doula, Gayla Lindt, asked me how I would know if I were successful in my site-based experiments. It was a really interesting question to consider since applying a real world context to the work brought in a dramatically new element.

I think the answer lies in several places. First, have I interpreted and applied the lessons I’ve taken from all of my previous studies? Particularly I’m looking to my planar studies and the subtraction cutting studies to inform any design ideas. Second, am I being true to the spirit of Serif and Flow, which inspired the entire project? Is this really the type of minimal construction that the dancers can both interact with and against? That is how I’ll measure success.

Here’s an image of Justin, who was kind enough to help me with the site-based fabric test. The transparency and suppleness of this fabric to telegraph the shape of his hand is great, great, great. These two qualities are key in how the structure performs; it can both conceal and reveal the body.

No Responses Yet to “How to measure success”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

