Site context – for comment, Marc

02May10

This semester has been focused on the process of learning to represent and visualize movement/dance in ways that can be architecturally meaningful. Nearly all of my studies have been done without a context. I’ve decided that the last step of the process that I’d like to complete before presenting my work is to look at a real context in which to look at the application of the lessons I’ve drawn from my prior work (archibabble alert!). How can I take the work I’ve done and use it to drive/shape a full scale test in a real site (less archispeaky, I think)?

Here are some ideas I’m currently looking at that place this fabric construction in a site outside of Rapson Hall. (click to enlarge)

Please let me know what you like/dislike about any or all of these proposals.

2 Responses to “Site context – for comment, Marc”

  1. 1 Bruce Wright

    Amber, all of your interventions have merit and are interesting. I feel that Intervention 2 and 4 are most practical for what I think you are trying to do. They command the space, but provide enough flexibility to allow movement by a dancer(s).

    Does that make sense?

    Bruce

  2. 2 ambersausen

    Great to get some feedback, Bruce; thanks! Those comments definitely make sense. The movement of the dancers between/through the different layers is a big question. The opening studies I did have merit, now I’m trying to incorporate those into a new plan to starts to bridge across some of the layers.
    Amber


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

